Feminism / TV

5 Moments From ‘The Simpsons’ That Prove Lisa Simpson Is A Feminist Badass

Thought Catalog

I grew up with The Simpsons.

Before I could talk, I could say “D’oh.” I’ve won so many games of Simpsons Scene-It that many of my friends refuse to play with me. Sometimes, my family and I communicate entirely in Simpsons quotes. My ability to relate almost every single life event to a Simpsons scene is often bewildering to those in my anti-capitalist, feminist friend circle, who often question my loyalty to the Simpsons franchise. However, what they often don’t understand is that this show shaped not only my sense of humor, but also my politics, often from the wisdom of the precocious eight-year-old Lisa Simpson.

Lisa has always been my hero. At age four, I longed to be just four years older so I could be as mature and wise as Lisa. When my eighth birthday did not come with the adult-written maturity Lisa displays, I was more…

View original post 1,008 more words

Leave a Reply

