News / Science

Resilience is a Dirty Word

The Door Ajar

I am lucky enough that my family has been spared from the strongest typhoon in recorded history. It’s strange; growing up it was common knowledge that my city would always be one of the first hit by a typhoon, that low pressure areas tend to form and pass by my region fairly often. In recent years, the typhoons have been trickier. They’ve also been stronger and deadlier, no thanks to people who still, stubbornly, and really at this point maliciously, deny that climate change exists. I write that my family has been spared because it seems the only appropriate word.

These days I’ve been finding it hard to look at pictures of disaster. I refused to look at the devastation in Fukushima as I now refuse to look at the devastation Typhoon Yolanda (international name Haiyan) has wrought on my country. Instead, I read. News articles that contain trickles of…

View original post 556 more words

Leave a Reply

